Mmmmmm….Peppermint Oil

The time is right. Mint is overflowing in the garden. The weather is warm. It’s time to make us some peppermint oil. Ready? Let’s do it.

All you will need is fresh peppermint (harvested in the morning if possible, when the oils are at their peak), a mason jar and some oil. You will want to use a minimal odor oil such as olive, wheat germ oil, almond oil, etc. I used grapeseed oil in mine.

Make sure your jar (and lid) is clean and dry. Wash your mint well, making sure no little critters have come along for the ride. Gently roll the mint in a clean towel to dry (or pat with the towel).

Take full stems of the peppermint and fold them to fit inside the jar. Pack as many stems as you can inside the jar.

Next, take the end of a wooden spoon and crush the leaves in order to release the oils. It may not look pretty, but it smells amazing!

Then simply fill the jar with your oil. Place the lid on and give it a good shake. Open the jar and add any additional oil needed to fill the jar, reseal the lid and shake again.

 

 

 

 

Now, depending on the weather…yes, the weather…you will let your oil sit and embrace all of those lovely droplets of oil. If it’s a hot summer day, you can simply place the jar outside in the sun for two days, shaking the jar every 12 hours.

If it’s cool weather, you can keep it in a cupboard for a month or so, shaking it daily. When your oil is infused, simply strain the leaves from the oil and you have Peppermint Oil! If you’d like to speed up the process, you can heat your oil to 160 degrees before you add it to the jar. The oil will keep for 3-6 months in your cupboard, or extend the life to 9 months or so by refrigerating.

You can add a little to your bath, rub some on your chest when you’re congested, dab on your temples to help invigorate the senses or even add it to recipes to create some over-the-top Christmas candy! Peppermint Oil. Tis the season.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Household Tips, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mmmmmm….Peppermint Oil

  1. What an absolutely fantastic idea – I simply HAVE to do this! Thanks!

  2. Julian says:

    Would coconut oil be okay for this Peppermint oil?

    • I’ve never tried it with coconut oil, but it’s worth trying a small batch. Just make sure that you don’t leave the mint in the oil too long, as it can become rancid. If you give it a shot, I’d love to know the results!

      • Julian says:

        I tried the coconut oil and mint leaves. That didn’t work out so well. I think I got a bad batch of mint or something since it smelled rancid. I’ll take another shot with some carrier oil or something later.

      • Make sure you’re not leaving it in the jar too long as the mint will start to decay. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

