A Surprise Better Than Flowers

This weekend, my husband told me that he had a surprise for me and that I couldn’t come to the farm until he said so. Now, after all these years, I’ve learned that when he says he has a surprise it could be anything from a motorcycle to new socks so I don’t even try to guess.

When I was younger and we were first dating, I would hope that he would send me flowers at work. Just once. I would see other women getting bouquets on their special days and wished one would arrive for me. But let’s face it, with age comes wisdom. It took a little while, but I realized that my husband isn’t the flower ordering kind of guy. He shows his love in much better ways. Like giving the best back scratches when I don’t feel well, blowing kisses to me every morning, carrying the laundry basket upstairs for me because it’s heavy, drawing a bath for me when my back hurts, holding my hand every time we’re in the car, making up silly songs to sing to me on his way home from work or even stopping on the side of the road and picking wildflowers…delivering them to me himself.

This year, I have converted our well house at the farm into a workshop area for myself. It is where I will work on all of my projects, do some of the gardening work and use my girlie power tools. I plan on spending a significant amount of time in there. Yesterday, my dear husband bought and installed an air conditioner in the well house so I’ll be cool and comfortable when the thermometer soars. That’s love. Pure and simple. He was worried about me and did something about it. Anyone can order flowers. Not everyone truly “takes care of” their partner. Yeah, he’s pretty cool himself.

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Surprise Better Than Flowers

  1. That’s wonderful! My kind of gift!

  2. Mary says:

    Love is air conditioning !! 🙂

  3. lisa white says:

    thats awesome…!!! chris always picks me up tshirts and mugs and little things for my purse at all the health fairs… this year on the national guard unity day.. i got.. A PINK NATIONAL GUARD PIGGY BANK :)))))n the tshirts are always extra big… 🙂 i sleep in them…

  4. lisa white says:

    another wonderful thing he does for me is pick me up all kinds of goodies at the caseload sale at the PX or commissarry…:)

Leave a Reply

