Have You Seen My New Planter?

Awhile ago, as I was cleaning out our sunroom in order to make a dressing room, I found myself having to do something with an old Singer sewing machine stand. It does not have a sewing machine and is missing two drawers. I used to have a tabletop for it, which has found its way to a different table.

I tried to give it away on Freecycle without success. So I was kind of stuck with it. I put it on my front porch with the intention of getting another tabletop for it and using it as a table. I’m not sure when the idea formed, but a few days later, I was grabbing a plastic dishwashing tub and seeing if it fit into the hole where the sewing machine was. And it did. Woo Hoo! Inside the tub I’ve placed a planter of summer flowers. There is room on the sides to use it as a tabletop and if I need more space to hold drinks, small plants, etc…I’ll pull out a drawer. I also found that my citronella candle tucks away very nicely where the drawers are missing.

I’m quite pleased that I could repurpose this wonderful piece!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Just Fun, Money Saving Ideas, Repurpose Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Have You Seen My New Planter?

  1. I LOVE IT! What a great use for the table base.

  2. christine says:

    Love it! A wonderful nostalgic piece put to good use. The red/white combo makes the richness of the wood come through.

  3. cooktocure says:

    You’re cute and smart! Who would have known 😉 Cheers!

  4. Monica says:

    Lovely! I made mind into a coffee table.

  5. Pingback: Have You Seen My New Planter? | Potted Plant Society

Leave a Reply

