Chive Flower Vinegar

The chives in the garden are flowering and are oh-so lovely! I decided that I would use some of them to make Chive Flower Vinegar. Another very, very simple “recipe” that people love to receive as gifts. Here’s what you do:

 

 

 

 

 

Take a nice amount of chive flowers and wash them thoroughly. Dry well. Place flowers into a mason jar, filling the jar approximately 2/3 of the way with flowers.

Fill the jar to the top with regular white vinegar. Put the lid on and let sit in a dark, cool place for about two weeks. The vinegar will turn a shade of pink and will take on the subtle onion-y taste of the chives. Drain the vinegar before using just in case a little bug or piece of dirt was still in your flowers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chive Vinegar is great to use in all sorts of recipes, but especially fresh homemade salad dressing. Yum. Enjoy!

This project has been linked up to:

 

 

 

 

Head on over the to the linky parties to check out more fun projects, recipes and crafts.

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Chive Flower Vinegar

  1. msmckibbon says:

    This is so timely! I’ve got some chives flowering in my windowsill right now – thank you!! And your photographs and lovely.

  2. kris says:

    can you post some dressing recipes for this vinegar?

  3. I have never heard of chive vinegar! It sounds awesome….and I have a lot of chives in my yard (because they expand like crazy!).

    Thanks for sharing!
    –Katie
    @ Creatively Living

  4. I’m going to be sharing this on my FB page tonight!
    Thanks for linking it up!
    –Katie
    @ Creatively Living

  5. Oooh this looks amazing, I’ll definitely have to give this a try!

  6. Pingback: Green Goddess Dressing | Fine Frugality

Leave a Reply

