Happy Mother’s Day!

Mother’s Day. A day set aside to celebrate all the things that moms do. I remember seeing something awhile back stating that if a mother got paid for all of the jobs she really does (cook, taxi driver, dry cleaner, maid, etc), that she would earn something along the lines of a gazillion dollars a year. She should.

Being a mother is hard work. There’s something inside of us that takes over our brains, convincing us that we must take care of the world. We need to band-aid every boo-boo, mend every broken heart, clean every dirty dish and serve soup to every sick child. We carry the sorrows of every one we know. If they hurt, we hurt with them. We are the finest of multi-taskers and are looked at in awe as we feed a baby, pay the electric bill, cook dinner and check homework all at the same time. I’ll repeat. It is hard work. It is also a job that offers no retirement plan. It is a lifelong commitment.

Of course, like anything else, you have no idea how hard it is until you do it. I wish I knew how my mother raised us without cell phones, the internet or even an electronic calendar. She made sure we were where we needed to be without her cell phone alarm telling her to do so. She clothed us in our Sunday best without being able to order online. She trusted that we would run through the door at dinner time. If we didn’t, she used her lungs to yell out the front door instead of calling our cell phones. She couldn’t look at our wall on Facebook and see if we were having a good day or not. She talked with us at the dinner table instead. And she did it all without going completely insane. Or killing us. 🙂

Today, I would like to thank my mom for all of her hard work. Work that continues today. She makes holidays extra special, still checks on us the old fashioned way and worries about her children and grandchildren with her entire heart. My mother is one of a kind with an outrageous sense of humor, a frustrating habit of procrastination, a contagious laugh, an embarrassing break-the-rules attitude and a heart bigger than most. I wouldn’t have it any other way. I have been blessed for sure.

Thank you Mom. For helping to mold me into the woman I am today. For taking care of us, while still having fun. For being a special “Manga” to my children. For everything. Thank you for your hard work. I love you. Happy Mother’s Day.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. I hope you enjoyed your day! Mine was lovely. It’s even quiet here now -everyone is off doing their own thing for a while. Peace..

    • So far, so good. I’ll be posting about our annual Mother’s Day tradition either tonight or tomorrow. Heading out to visit my mother-in-law next. Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

