The Found Money Fund

I love “found” money. You know what I mean, that $10 you find in a coat pocket, the $2 that falls out of the dryer or perhaps a tax refund you weren’t expecting. Found money. Well, any time I come across found money, it goes into what I refer to as “The Found Money Fund”. I immediately stash it away into a secret location and forget it’s there. At the end of the week, I go through my wallet and any $1 or $5 bills go into the fund as well. And there it sits…waiting to be put to good use.

Two days ago, I came across curtains that were marked down to only $8.50 per panel. I have very large windows and lots of them, so curtains are usually a major investment for me. I only had valances on my living room windows forever, waiting to come across the right curtains. And as luck would have it…when I came across them they were on clearance!

I am a believer in budgets (thanks Dad!) and it has worked out well so far. We don’t owe anyone and if we want something, we budget for it and get it when we can pay for it. Anything from birthday gifts to vehicles to college tuition goes into the budget. Curtains weren’t in the budget. No worries! THAT’s a perfect scenario for The Found Money Fund!

I was able to pay for the curtains without a credit card or dipping into money that is allocated for something else. Yay! So I have new curtains, plenty left in The Found Money Fund and I still don’t owe anyone.

The fun part of The Found Money Fund is finding a place to stash your cash. Did you ever hear the saying “The best place to hide something is in plain view”? Well, it certainly works in this case. There are all sorts of great hiding places:

  • A bag of spinach in the freezer
  • An empty container of fat free cottage cheese in the fridge
  • An empty deodorant canister
  • An envelope tucked into a dictionary
  • An old pair of sneakers ~ make sure you have old socks sticking out of the sneakers as an extra thief barrier. hahaha

Here’s another good one ~ inside a jar of dried beans. By the way…this is used as an example, this is NOT where I keep my Found Money Fund so please don’t come to my house and ransack all my jars of beans. That would just get messy.

I’m sure you can come up with something creative on your own. The hardest part about this idea is transferring the cash from your hand to the secret hiding place. Instant gratification can be so sweet….but trust me, being debt free is even sweeter. So go ahead, stash that found money. When you decide you want to buy a new mountain bike and didn’t budget for it, you’ll be so glad you did.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

