That’s The Way The Cookie Crumbles

Recently I had packed some snacks for my husband and I to take on a trip to Texas. Our flight times were odd, so there was no food served. I figured we could just pick at some granola bars,  peanuts, fruit and cookies. I have no idea what I was thinking when I packed cookies. Cookies + Traveling = Crumbs. So this poor oatmeal cookie (free sample from Quaker by the way) traveled from Pennsylvania to Texas and back. As I was unpacking, I realized that it was a travel casualty. Being the frugal minded person I am though, of course I didn’t toss it in the trash! The next morning, I simply added it to my vanilla yogurt for a wonderful breakfast!

Here’s some other great things you can do with cookie crumbles:

  1. Use them as pie crust.
  2. Sprinkle on top of ice cream.
  3. Top your cake or cupcakes with the crumbs.
  4. Dunk fruit into melted chocolate, then roll into the crumbs. Let cool then freeze for a great snack.
  5. Make “dirt” dessert by layering cookie crumbs with chocolate pudding.
  6. Mix them into your favorite fruit dip recipe.
  7. Roll homemade truffles into the crumbs to coat.
  8. Make homemade ice cream bars using popsicle molds. Coat the bars in the crumbs.

So THAT’s the way the cookie crumbles. And it’s alright if it does!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Household Tips, Life Stuff, Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That’s The Way The Cookie Crumbles

Leave a Reply

