May De-Clutter Day 3 (And Day 2 Catch Up)

Due to the fact that I spent the day yesterday shopping with my mom, I didn’t have a lot of time when I got back to tackle the big job of cleaning out the coat closet. I only got a little bit done, but finished it up like a wild woman today! Our coat closet is the only closet downstairs so we tend to pack everything in there from tools to vacuum cleaners to wrapping supplies. An additional problem is that although I often get rid of clothing that I no longer wear, I can’t remember the last time I got rid of a coat. Truly. I guess we just kept adding them as we got them. No wonder it looked the way it did! So here’s what it looked like when I started:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here’s as I was about halfway through. This is what the shelving looked like after all the coats came out…and then after I organized it…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What amazed me as I was going through things is how many empty boxes I had kept! I had every cell phone box since we started getting cell phones, every computer box, etc. What in the world was I thinking? I was thinking that if we had to return them, we could do so in the box. I kept the instructions in the boxes as well so if we ever had to refer…there they were. Well guess what? You can return the phones without the box and we’re smart enough to trouble shoot our electronics. Out they went. Along with about 10 or 12 coats, some decorative items, some shoes and a bunch of hangers.

Here’s what is going to the thrift store: (Don’t mind my dog leering at me…I think she was a tad annoyed that I kept disturbing her naps)

And HERE is what it looks like now. I put the winter coats in the back, fall jackets next with the spring jacket in front…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can’t believe that there is empty space on the shelves! I am very pleased indeed. It is still a storage area for awkward items such as the vacuum cleaners and wrapping supplies, but it is much more organized for sure. I made a box for all of the dog’s leashes and walking supplies, put all of the winter hats inside a pretty tote and now have the gardening gloves inside an old Christmas popcorn tin. Other items I grouped together or put into their own totes. You have no idea how happy I am to have that project under my belt.

 

 

 

 

Oh, and the hallway is done…5 minutes. It’s an empty hallway, so no pic but it has been swept and the walls have been wiped down. Can’t wait to bring on more de-cluttering tomorrow! Watch out pantries…I’m coming for you!

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in May Declutter Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to May De-Clutter Day 3 (And Day 2 Catch Up)

  1. oldentimes says:

    I’m proud of you! Great work!

    • Thanks! I got so energized that I took the dog for a walk, did 20 minutes of exercises and a load of laundry! It helps that the weather is beautiful too. Good day!

  2. twistnpout says:

    Good for you! I was just preparing to write a post on decluttering.

  3. cooktocure says:

    10 minutes ago I ended an hour long conversation with my niece about helping me do some Spring cleaning! I have more stuff now than I ever had before.., we combined two families and dear me, I’m sinking in STUFF. Kudos to you!
    ~ Hoda

Leave a Reply

