May De-Clutter Challenge ~ Day One

Tidiness makes me happy. Organization makes me calm. Right now, I have neither. My home is overwhelmed with “to-do” projects that have been put on hold until our nest was empty. It has now been officially empty for one month.

I have been able to get a few projects done (like my new dressing room that I LOVE), but I often find that I end up doing bits and pieces of things, resulting in more chaos. Let’s say that I’m painting…I can get distracted by a drawer that needs cleaned out, or a dust bunny that needs swept. And there goes the painting. By taking on all of these projects, I am also getting rid of many items. These items are going to a few different places…the farm, relatives, the thrift shop, daughter’s apartment, etc. So there they sit until they get to their new homes. I’m tired of it. I finally have the time to get the projects done without distraction and to get rid of the “stuff” that this family has acquired over the years.

So I made a schedule. A schedule that I can adhere to without distraction. I will tackle “zones” in my home throughout the month of May, one at a time. I reclaim my home, starting today.

Day one of the De-Clutter Challenge is to clean up and/or organize the entryway. This is the first spot in your home seen when you (or guests) enter the door. My entryway (more like an entry area) tends to hold all of the “things” that are leaving the house. It is the home of “I’ll just put it here for now” items and we also got into the habit of taking our shoes off and putting them on the runner so we don’t track dirt through the house.  This area makes me insane.

My entry area had a huge glass chandelier (being returned to my mom), two drawer storage cases, two speakers, a container of grass seed (I know, right?), some random pictures, a decorative ladder and some wooden storage boxes.

I’ve been trying to give that chandelier back to my mom for weeks now. Guess what Mom…it’s in the car, heading to your house! The storage cases and speakers are going to the farm to use in the barn. The ladder is also going to the farm (I’m thinking about hanging quilts on it or something…). The pictures are going to our monthly swap meet. Everything else has found a home here. The wood boxes will probably be used in tomorrow’s challenge…the dreaded coat closet!

In an attempt to corral the shoes, I tried to find fabric boxes that I liked, but was not successful. So I made one. I took an ordinary cardboard box, $1.50 worth of fabric and spray adhesive…Ta Da! Fabric box! I used the side flaps as protection in the bottom of the box to catch any dampness or dirt. It is now the home of my favorite comfy pair of flip flops.

 

 

 

 

And here is the end result. It only took me 20 minutes to do and I ended up wondering why I put it off. This is why I like a schedule, it TELLS me what to do. I don’t want to be a slacker. This is why I post that I’m going to do something, I will be held accountable.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day One…a complete success. I am happy. Mom’s not going to be when I show up at her house with her giant chandelier. Maybe I’ll have to make a schedule for her?

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in DIY, May Declutter Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to May De-Clutter Challenge ~ Day One

  1. Tara says:

    i am definitely going to be doing this challenge, thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. oldentimes says:

    Woohoo! looks great! I cleaned off Hubby’s gun cabinet ( a nightmare catch-all)and swept. Looking for a new rug to put in the entry! My success is not as great as yours, but I accomplished something. Now to rest up before tackling that nightmare coat rack in the hall tomorrow!
    Hubby took me to town and I had a banana split, so my treat has already been consumed. I’ll have to work that off! 😛

  3. Ahhhh….it looks so nice! I love that bench and pillow, and the basket! Good for you. We are on “operation keep the house under control” around here right now. It can get really bad with 5 little kids and a lot of DIY, so we’re trying to keep it clean!
    Thanks for sharing and the inspiration! –Katie

Leave a Reply

