Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Something You Don’t Like

This has always been a pet peeve of mine. The literal “dumping” that goes on at donation boxes. First, I don’t know if people actually think that they’re giving to charity when they drop items off at these boxes, but they are not. The items are sold for profit.

Second, and most importantly, if the bins are full…do NOT dump items on the ground outside of the bins. They are exposed to weather, animals and/or vandalism. Then no one can use them and they are garbage.

Lastly, if you are truly too lazy to move on to the next drop off box or thrift store, I feel so desperately bad for you. Society has adopted a “disposable” attitude that has left our earth cluttered and landfills heaped with items that don’t have to be there. Couple that with a “not my problem” mentality and it’s no wonder the world is where it is today.

I don’t like this.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Something You Don’t Like

  1. I always drop stuff off at Goodwill, but I see these things all over the place. I admit, I don’t know much about them, but I assumed they were for charity. Although I’m sure it will make me angry, who reaps the benefit of these boxes?

    • They are private “companies” who then set up used clothing shops WORLD wide. Totally for profit. This one is for USAgain .(And it REALLY peeves me that they capitalize the USA) Their website promotes it as a “green” way to rid yourself of unwanted items. What’s more green than giving them to homeless, low income or victims? I’ll step down from my soapbox now. 🙂

      • Well, move over friend, because I’m going to step up there with ya! I saw some on the way to a meeting tonight. We live in the suburbs of the poorest city in the US & they are going to SELL that clothing? Thank you for sharing this with me. I’m peeved!

      • Welcome aboard! 🙂 Most charities do not have bins (there are a handful left, but they couldn’t afford the disposal of all the trash). Check the bin itself and it will tell you who the company is and it should also say whether it’s for profit or not. Thanks for your input!

  2. Jess says:

    I’m glad you posted this. My husband used to volunteer for a company that had these bins and he left because of the fact that they were selling these clothes for profit. The company he was volunteering at was selling the clothes to the poor people in Africa. Clothes that people are giving away for free and then the companies take advantage of these people. It’s sad!

Leave a Reply

