Farm Progress

Well, the garden is looking pretty good for April. Here’s what we have in the ground: white onions, garlic, strawberries, carrots, chives, cilantro, lettuce, rutabaga, radishes, turnips, beets, asparagus, peppermint, red onions and a few bean plants.

Some are perennial, some are new to the garden and the rest were planted within the last few weeks. I am very happy with the peppermint bed. We started with one itsy plant last year and it is spreading nicely. The soil was not really tended to as well as some of the other beds and we were just hoping for the best. Well, we are going to have plenty for some great iced tea, homemade mint oil and desserts. We’ll dry some too.

Thought I’d re-share another gardening tip since I just used it this weekend again. Cut up bath tissue or paper towel rolls into inch-wide circles. Put the circles directly into the garden bed and fill with soil. Plant seeds only inside the circles, then you can mulch outside of the circles, or simply know that anything growing outside the circles are weeds and can be pulled.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There is still so very much to do, but I’m liking the progress so far. I’m hoping to have some peas and beans in this week before we leave for a mini-vacation over the weekend. So much to do, so little time. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Garden Tips, Gardening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Farm Progress

  1. attemptinggreen says:

    i’d like to know how to make mint oil!

    • Very easy…simmer fresh cut mint in olive or almond oil on a low stove for about two hours so the mint can infuse the oil. Let cool. You can rub it on your chest when you have a cold, just like Vicks Vapo Rub or use it in some light summer salad dressing recipes.

  2. I have a warning about the mint. If you can, dig it up and pot it in something. Otherwise, it will spred like nothing you have ever seen before. It will jump over small barriers and invade beds beside it too. I have been digging and redigging and attempting to kill a patch of chocolate mint in my back flower bed for the past 4 years – and it refuses to die.

    Otherwise, I like mint too, just wish Id never planted it in my garden.

    • I’m aware of the invasive nature of the mint, that’s why we chose a semi-removed bed for it’s home. We were waiting to see if it even survived and now plan on putting a second tier of logs around this bed due to that very thing. Thanks for the info and watching my back. 🙂

  3. Stacey says:

    Is peppermint hard to grow? I would love to try it in my little backyard because I drink alot of peppermint tea because of all my stomach issues. Any help you can give me would be appreciated. Thanks

Leave a Reply

