The 99 Steps! (Photo-A-Day April Challenge)

Today’s challenge subject is “stairs”. I was already thinking about this one yesterday and wasn’t sure what I was going to post. As I was packing up some things to take to the thrift store, it hit me. The 99 steps! Perfect!

You see, in Shamokin (my hometown), we have a beautiful stone staircase that could always be taken as a shortcut from one part of town to another. They were dubbed “The 99 Steps”. I’m not really sure if there are 99 or not, but there sure are plenty of them! As kids, we just assumed there were 99, why else would they have that name?

They really are beautiful. I remember sitting on them with friends, eating ice cream and watching the cars go by below. We would climb up the sides of them, or if in a really daring mood…walk on the stones that jutted above the handrails.  Once you reached the top…you always had to turn and admire the terrain that you just conquered.

My father grew up in a house at the top of the 99 steps. I can only imagine the wonderful view that my grandmother enjoyed from there! There is no doubt in my mind that she also had to bandage up my father and his brothers plenty of times from their adventures and races of their own. 99 stone steps + 3 boys = 354624 band-aids at least!

Unfortunately, kids today don’t get to enjoy the 99 steps. They have been closed for years due to disrepair and broken steps. It’s another part of our history that is literally crumbling before our eyes. What a shame it is that they won’t have the chance to smile and remember adventures when they see those beautiful steps in years to come. I can only hope that one day someone will see the importance of keeping and maintaining these parts of our city and we can restore The 99 Steps to what they once were. For now, at least I have my memories. The touch of cool stone on a summer day, the way feet form around jutting stone and flushed cheeks from a race with friends. Love those steps.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The 99 Steps! (Photo-A-Day April Challenge)

  1. Stacey says:

    Oh how I miss these steps. I used them all the time!

  2. Jodi says:

    I agree, I use to go down those steps all the time when I was a kid to go to the pool and skating rink that also has been closed down 😦 So many nice things this town once had, it’s a shame really how much has been left go.

    • Makes the heart sad for sure. Loved those steps! 😦

      • mary anne ryan kazlauskas says:

        there are several sets of steps in shamokin and coal township that should be preserved. also the veterans monument on w. spruce street . one of the finest examples of stonework is the w. pine street hill wall. also under the macadam on the street is fine old yellow brick. many of these stoneworks, if i am not mistaken, and i probably am, were done during the depression using WPA workers. have heard that some of these stoneworks were done about the time that italian and german stonemasons were working on private homes and churches in the area, late 1800’s. maybe someone could do some research on when they were built and by whom.

      • Wouldn’t that be absolutely wonderful? I used to live near the wall on Pine St and often admired the craftsmanship.

  3. “the ninety nine steps” are awesome aren’t they … a part of our history … thanx for sharing

Leave a Reply

