Coupon Swaps

Are coupon swaps popular in your area? Do you belong to one? Our town didn’t really have a formal coupon swap except for one that was sponsored by the library and held during working hours. So I went ahead and formed one. We hold our meetings twice a month in the hall of one of our local churches. Each member donates food, clothing or household items as our “payment” to use the church. (For those of you that have been following for awhile, you probably know about our meetings. I won’t be offended if you pass by)

One of our meetings was scheduled for last night. We usually have a core group of about 15 women, but last night there were nine of us total (I think the others were still suffering from ham hangovers or something!). We were lucky enough to add a new member to the mix as well and certainly hope she’ll become a regular. Let me tell you, there sure were a ton of coupons for nine people!

We all enjoy couponing and saving money, so our group also barters with each other for items and services and we hold our own “swap meets” monthly where we each bring in items we no longer want or need and we can then take home something “new” in return. Whatever isn’t claimed is donated to the church.

Last night, the church was recipient to a great haul of items. Lots of clothing, baby formula, two bags of food and a few household items to boot. Thanks Mom for purging some things last week!

 

 

 

Not only do we save money and give to charity, we laugh, talk and truly enjoy our time together. Not bad for a bunch of women that didn’t really know each other that well at the beginning (some didn’t know each other at all). If you think a coupon swap is something you may be interested in, check your area to see if there’s one you can join. If not, start something up yourself! With today’s technology, it’s easy to get the word out. If you’d like some pointers, just ask! I’ll be glad to help anyway that I can. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Grocery Savings, Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

