The Bottomless Pickle Jar

I don’t know about you, but I never use an entire cucumber at a time unless I’m making something for a picnic, etc. I used to fish out half-cucumbers from the crisper drawer in all sorts of decaying stages before something clicked in my brain…way back in that tiny “aha” spot that we all have.

I waste no more. I now keep a large container of homemade pickle brine in the refrigerator and add cucumber cast-offs whenever I have them. Today, I had about half a cucumber left over after I made my salad for lunch.

Here’s what you do:

Make sure the cucumber is washed well because you’re going to be eating the skin. Cut the leftover portion into quarters, longways. Then cut down the seed side so that most of the seeds are removed. (No one wants big ol’ seeds in their pickles!) Now you can simply slice them into bite sized chunks and plop them right into that pool of pickle juice.

 

 

 

 

Don’t make your own pickle brine? No problem, use the juice from your favorite jar of pickles. (Claussen anyone?) Since you’re using regular cucumbers instead of pickling cucumbers, they may get a little soft over time, but mine never really last that long. 🙂

Side note…if you ever come across one of these handy pickle containers, you MUST buy it. Simply pull the handle up and all of the pickles are lifted out of the juice so you have access to them without dunking your fingers or a fork into a jar. Clever, huh? Of course I found mine at a thrift store. I’m currently on the hunt for a second one to keep at the farm.

And that concludes our pickle post for today. Pickle on!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Bottomless Pickle Jar

  1. I tried this once,but maybe I left it too long. My “new” pickles got all smooshy. I’ll try again.

  2. Love it! We’re big pickle eaters. I might even try starting one up for carrots.

Leave a Reply

