Another One Leaves The Nest ~ Well, Kinda

Today our oldest daughter is moving into a new apartment. About six months ago she claimed that she was ready to be independent and wanted to move out on her own. Her father and I disagreed. We were of the opinion that reality would punch her directly in the face, knock her down and beat the snot out of her. In other words, we feel that she needs to acquire a few more life skills before her wings are spread quite that wide.

After much discussion, a compromise was made. We have converted our basement into a mini-apartment. It used to be a big rec room where the kids would hang out or gatherings would be held. We had a divider wall put up, in order to make separate living room and bedroom areas. We had the small bathroom upgraded. There was already a refrigerator, microwave, etc. down there.

 

 

 

 

It will be the same setup as if she was moving across town. She will be responsible for bills and rent. She will purchase her own groceries, cleaning supplies…anything she needs to maintain the apartment. She does not have free access to our space and we do not have free access to hers. We all must knock to visit.

We will feel better knowing that if she needs anything, we are upstairs. She feels better knowing that she is free to make her own choices. I think it was a great compromise. My sister referred to it as an apartment with training wheels. I love that! Today is moving day. I’ll post pics after she’s moved in to show you what it looks like. I think it’s the perfect arrangement. Fly little birdie…fly! Just flap slowly. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another One Leaves The Nest ~ Well, Kinda

  1. lisa white says:

    GOOD LUCK ALEX.. you CAN do this…. 🙂

  2. mary anne kazlauskas says:

    looks very nice, can i rent it. nicer then my house. she will love it and gives her resposibility for those things she never even thought goes into keeping a house.
    my parents wanted all of us girls (3 ) to live on our on before getting married. when i was getting divorced i had no fear that my kids and i would survive because i had that experience. did the same with my girls. gives you that inner confidence you can deal with things.

    good luck to you all.

Leave a Reply

