What to Do When The Roll is Empty

I’m a big fan of “waste not, want not”. I try to find uses for as many items as I possibly can and love when something has many uses. Bath tissue and paper towel cardboard tubes are no different. Luckily, they can be used for many things and will also be a big help if you’re a gardener.

Here’s some ideas to get you rolling (hahaha get it…rolling):

You could use them as fire starters for your fireplace, wood stove or even campfire. Fill the tubes with dryer lint and you’ve got great kindling! Or you could wrap small gifts in them. Fold one end over (two folds), insert the gift, and fold the other end and tape both ends. Roll it up in colorful tissue paper and tie at each end. Great for those small, hard to wrap items. If you don’t want to put a gift in them, how about some dried beans and you’ve got maracas!

How about using them as stampers for art projects…look at all of the shapes you can make with them! They also make a great protective covering for those eyeglasses you have to keep in the nightstand in order to read the medicine bottle (They sure do make that print tiny these days!). You can cut them up one side and slip them over hangers…no more creases in your pants! (Tape them back together once they’re over the hanger. They’re also awesome to help keep ribbons and string organized for crafts.

They can keep your fingers safe from sharp knives. Just flatten the tube and secure one end with tape. Slide the knife right in. What about keeping your ponytail holders and bobby pins in one spot? Keep some plastic bags in the larger ones and keep the tube in your glove compartment for car cleanups.

They are the handiest little things in the garden too! You all know that you can make seed starters by closing one end and filling with soil, but here are two more uses for you gardeners: Use them as dividers to keep new seeds and seedlings where they belong or if you’re planting directly into your garden use this trick: Cut the tubes into smaller circles and put the circles directly into the ground. Put seeds only inside the circles. Then you know anything growing outside of the circles are weeds! The tubes will not interfere with the plant growth, as it will decompose right into the ground.

So there you have it, some ideas for those cardboard tubes that usually end up in your powder room trash. And there are many more out there! Why not repurpose some today?

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Money Saving Ideas, Repurpose Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What to Do When The Roll is Empty

  1. No apologies necessary! I’m sure it’s in my future. hahahaha

  2. Reblogged this on Janet Chung and commented:
    I have been reading posts about reuse to inspire my spring cleaning. This post does double duty with gardening tips. Enjoy your weekend!

  3. Sherry says:

    I just used my for my start – a couple posts ago: http://pickahling.wordpress.com/2012/03/27/well-start-with-starts/
    It worked great. I think I may have gotten the original idea from a past post from http://lightlycrunchy.wordpress.com/
    can’t remember for sure 😦

Leave a Reply

