Edible Art

Let’s face it, everyone loves colorful food, including me! Most breakfast foods tend to be a tad bland looking. Cereal, pancakes, toast… Yes, we can add some beautiful fruit to the mix to liven it up, but sometimes it’s more fun just to play with your food! Ready? Let’s create a masterpiece (or two):

The first thing you do is grab your supplies. You’ll need bread, small bowls or cups, food coloring, milk and small paintbrushes. If you don’t have any small paintbrushes, you can improvise like I did and find whatever makeshift “art supplies” your imagination can muster up.

Add a small amount of milk to each bowl. Then add food coloring to create whatever color your mind is seeing. Here’s what I chose:

Now go right ahead and paint that bread! The only precaution is that you don’t make the bread too soggy, or it will fall apart, so for children small paintbrushes really are best. Once the masterpieces are complete, pop them into the toaster on a low setting. (You don’t want it too dark, or you won’t be able to see your painting) While the toast is getting cozy in the toaster, go ahead and clean up that mess you made. 🙂

When you hear that wonderful “pop” from the toaster, your masterpiece is finished! I “glaze” mine with butter and a light sprinkle of cinnamon sugar (just for presentation purposes of course). And there you have it! Edible art, and it already has a frame! Have fun…you can only live today once!

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Just Fun, Life Stuff, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Edible Art

  1. So fun! My kiddos would love this! I will have to try it over Spring Break next week! Thanks so much for sharing!

    Take care,

    Trish

Leave a Reply

