When to Say No to Grocery Shopping

Help! I’ve fallen in a grocery funk and can’t get out! So here’s the deal. I seriously have enough food in this house to last several months. Yet each week, I head out to the grocery store telling myself I’m only going to pick up a few necessities. I come back with a full order. Now granted, this time of year I usually stock up more due to the fact that soon we’ll be spending a lot of time at the farm. The nearest grocery store to the farm is about 15 miles, so I end up taking supplies over with us. When farm season is in full swing, it also leaves less time for grocery shopping, so it’s really nice to have everything we need on hand.

HOWEVER…my pantry is stocked, my freezers are full and I’m still picking up deals. Today at our Weis store, I couldn’t pass up boxes of Rice Krispies for $1 each (after sale and coupon). I certainly couldn’t walk past a buy one get one free sale on London Broils. Nor could I resist the Ken’s salad dressing deal. And the list goes on…I did however save a total of 51% ($70.04) on the order, so at least I’m still staying on track with that goal.

I know we’ll use it all and I know it won’t go to waste. It’s hard to not want to add to the supply consistently, especially after coming off of winter hibernation mode. I’m thinking April will be my time to significantly reduce my budget. We will have some fresh produce from the garden (at least lettuce and radishes), we will be eating out a few times (we have several birthdays in April), more farmer’s stands will pop up at market and my mom will be hosting Easter dinner, sending leftovers home with us. I will TRY really hard to buy only 2 meats per week and use up what’s in the freezer.

Another budget buster? Idle time! Today, as I was waiting for my husband to get off of work, I was already on the shopping strip because I had handled the title transfer, etc earlier for the new trailer. I had an hour to kill. I went to Aldi’s. BAD move. They had 26 oz cans of tomatoes for $.59, Brie cheese for $2.99 and check THIS deal out:

Garlic Infused Extra Virgin Olive Oil for $1.49? I bought the last four. How could I not? They don’t expire until next year. Seriously, I’ll never find them at this price again. Ever.

So what have we learned here? If you don’t need anything, don’t go shopping. If you have idle times on your hands, don’t go shopping. Know your own shopping habits and cycles. Stay home and rummage through your own cupboards. Schedule your time more efficiently so you don’t find yourself alone on a shopping strip that happens to have a rocking grocery store on one end. I’ll let you know how I’m doing, or I may be seeking a sponsor. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Grocery Savings, Life Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When to Say No to Grocery Shopping

  1. kris says:

    I do live on a farm. I keep my cupboards full in the winter because of snow storms,so now is time to use up to make room for the garden stuff, We froze 147 quart bags of sweet corn, thinking kids would take some home,but it has hardly made a dent in my freezer. So I repeat to myself as I go into the store buy fresh only!!!!! It helps some. Maybe you could try that kris

    • That’s exactly what I was thinking when I was trying to figure out strategies. Scan the perimeter of the store only! Our garden is getting bigger each year and I just bought a pressure canner this year in the hopes of preserving more of our bounty. That will decrease it even more next year, I hope! Thanks so much Kris. 🙂

Leave a Reply

