Two Kinds of Signs From My Grandpa

Several weeks ago, as I was cleaning out the well house at the farm, I came across a large wooden hex sign that my grandfather had made and painted. I then moved a cabinet that he built into the well house as I plan on painting it in the near future. Those two events had me thinking of him quite a bit.

My grandfather’s name was Robert, but everyone called him Shudie. He was a short, very well built man with a great snicker. He kind of whistled through his teeth as he snickered at his own jokes. You always knew where to find him, seated at the kitchen table, surrounded by roll-your-own cigarettes and sawdust. I would watch in awe as his rough hands could run sandpaper across his newest creation, play solitaire and roll a cigarette almost simultaneously. He loved to work with his hands. He painted, built and whittled all sorts of things. He was best known for his duck decoys and Pennsylvania Dutch Hex Signs.

The hex signs were (and still are) commonly seen on the barns of Pennsylvania Dutch Families. The designs on the signs were picked by families based on the design itself and certain colors, all of which had different meanings. My grandfather loved the colors in the hex signs and often recreated them. Several of his hex signs adorned the outside of his summer cottage and one or two had made their way to his son-in-law’s (my dad’s) farm. This is the one that I recently found:

So hex signs had always made me think of my Grandpa Shudie. Today, as I was wandering through a thrift store, I came across an awesome vintage linen calendar from 1973 and guess what was on it?

You betcha. Hex signs and other Pennsylvania Dutch symbols. And just look at that message. Don’t they say things come in threes? Well, to me…I just got three signs (and I can say that figuratively AND literally) that Grandpa Shudie is sending me a message. Don’t worry Grandpa, my heart is happy. And you just made it a little happier. ❤

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two Kinds of Signs From My Grandpa

  1. kzackuslheureux says:

    Great post! I was just reminiscing about my Grandpa and Grandma the other day (titled: Lost Ideas, Re-found Histories. This is just a wonderful post, and I hope to visit again soon 🙂

    • Thank you so much for stopping by! I sometimes love to just get lost in the memories of friends and family. I’m hopping over now to read your post! I love to read of other’s memories and recollections as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

