March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Spices

Today’s photo challenge topic is “spices”, so I thought I’d share with you a great recipe for Homemade Ranch Dressing/Dip Mix. It’s similar to the kind that you buy in the packet, but you can pronounce every ingredient. 🙂 Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons dried onion flakes
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 tablespoon parsley flakes
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons pepper
  • 1 ½ teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon dill

Combine all ingredients together and keep in an air tight container.

For salad dressing ~ Add 1 tablespoon of the mix to one cup mayonnaise and one cup buttermilk. Feel free to add more if you’d like!

For ranch dip ~ Add 1 tablespoon of mix to 1 cup sour cream.

Just make sure you refrigerate your dressing or dip for at least an hour before you serve so that the flavors have the chance to party together!

What’s great about having the mix on hand like this is that you can just plop a dollop of sour cream into a bowl and add as much mix as you’d like to make an individual serving of ranch dip. It helps to make it easy to eat your veggies at lunch time!

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Grocery Savings, Photos, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Spices

  1. justinecaraway says:

    Stopping by from the Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways Wednesday Blog Hop! http://queenofsavings.com

Leave a Reply

