March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Chop Chop

Today’s photo challenge subject is “chop chop”. I know that my picture may look a little more like “slice slice”, but it’s actually the feel of the photo that made me choose it. This picture was taken last year when some of our garden’s bounty was very plentiful. Which meant a lot of preserving. Which meant a LOT of slicing, prepping and chopping. So THAT is why I chose this picture. The feeling I get when I look at it. It takes me right back to the kitchen at the farm with my favorite knife with it’s worn, smooth wood handle attached semi-permanently to my right hand. Fresh vegetables filling every bowl, box and crate that we can find. It’s a wonderful feeling.

I also love this pic because it’s not often that we take the time to really look at the beauty of our food. Just LOOK at the kaleidoscope-like design in that carrot slice! The colors, the texture…you can almost see the nutrients pouring out of the core. The next time you’re in the kitchen doing up your evening chop-chop routine. Just take a moment to study the artistry that Mother Nature has provided. It’s a wonderful thing!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Life Stuff, Photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Chop Chop

  1. Liking your frugality – as much as I saw. Will be coming back again!

Leave a Reply

