March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Dinner

For today’s challenge subject, I thought I’d post a picture of one of my favorite go-to dinners. New England Pierogie Dinner. This meal is quick, economical and super easy to make!

I ended up posting this recipe to food.com for safe keeping when I found my handwritten note with “TRY” written across the scrawled recipe. I think it was originally taken from a magazine and I wish I could give credit to the original writer. If I find out it’s origin, I will certainly come back and let everyone know.

On to the recipe. One pot and ten minutes of cooking time. Could you ask for anything easier? I think not.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning
  • ½ head green cabbage, quartered
  • 2 ears corn, each cut in thirds
  • 8 ounces low-fat kielbasa, sliced
  • 1 ½ tablespoons butter, divided
  • 1 (12 ounce) box frozen potato pierogies (mini potato and cheddar)
  • fresh parsley, chopped as garnish

Here’s how you make it:

  • 1. Bring 1 cup water and Old Bay seasoning to a boil in a Dutch Oven.
  • 2. Add cabbage, corn, kielbasa and 1/2 tablespoon butter to Dutch Oven when water is boiling.
  • 3. Cover and cook 10 minutes, turning ingredients once or twice to avoid sticking. Cabbage and corn should be tender.
  • 4. Meanwhile, defrost pierogies in the microwave (about 2 minutes).
  • 5. Add pierogies and remaining 1 tablespoon butter; toss to mix.
  • 6. Garnish with parsley.

Did I lie? Pretty much the easiest thing you’ll ever make. Another versatile recipe too. If you don’t have corn on the cob, dump a drained can of corn right in there instead. No kielbasa? Use chicken sausage or regular sausage. Like more zing? Add more Old Bay. No mini pierogies? Use precooked (but still a little hard) potatoes.

Eat this dish and you’ll imagine yourself at a New England clambake on the beach. In the summer. With no wind, so sand won’t get in your food. With a small campfire to keep the bugs away. And no one with metal detectors to bother you. It’s THAT kind of good. Enjoy!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Photos, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Dinner

  1. Mark Routt says:

    this looks really good.

  2. Wow this looks absolutely delicious. Love the fact that this meal offers so many options and that it’s also healthy!

    Thanks for sharing this!

    • You are more than welcome. It is so tasty too! One of our favorite “go-to” meals.

      • Awesome! Also, was wondering…Do you think it would be ok to just substitute red for old bay seasoning?

      • I’m not sure what red is? If it’s similar to Old Bay, I’d give it a shot. If you don’t have Old Bay, but want something along those lines…here’s a link to a homemade Old Bay recipe. You could probably use that as a base and add/delete things as you see fit. Hope that helps.

  3. Sorry about that, meant to type red pepper. LOL

    • Oh! Well now it makes sense. 🙂 I’ll bet if you mix up a seasoning of maybe garlic powder, red pepper, minced onion and italian seasoning…it would bring on a whole new flavor! I’m not a huge fan of real spicy foods (although hubby loves to sweat from his food), so I can’t say on just hot pepper. But my advice would be to make a smaller batch, using whatever you like (or two smaller batches, one Old Bay and another experiment). Let me know how you make out!

Leave a Reply

