Organization is Beneficial for Frugality

I had mentioned earlier (in my fridge post) that I believe knowing what you have helps when being frugal. How many times have we all walked around saying “Did you see my….” or purchased something, forgetting that we already had one (or lost one)? It’s not only frustrating and time consuming but it is also unnecessary.

When you organize your pantry, cupboards or closets you automatically take a visual inventory every time you open one of them up. A week or two ago, I showed you what the inside of my pantry looked like. If you missed it, you can see it here. The same concept of organization helps me in my kitchen cupboards, my bathroom linen closet and any other place I need to know exactly what I have.

In my kitchen, the same as my fridge, I keep a lot of items in clear containers that are marked with the name of the item. When I go for that item and see that there’s only a small amount left…on the list it goes.

The linen closet is organized by small totes due to the fact that most of the items are either hard to stack or are small. The totes are labeled and when we reach into one that happens to be running low…you guessed it. On the list it goes. Here are a few of the totes that are in one of our bathrooms:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It just makes my life so much easier. I never wonder if I have something, I don’t waste time rooting through a bag that looked full but wasn’t and when I need something quickly, I know exactly where to go. I never waste money buying something I don’t need and I’m able to make my purchases in one trip.

So you see, organization is not only frugal, but it also helps you save time. Time that can be spent doing something way more fun than searching a cabinet for a jar of paprika (and then learning that it’s empty).

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Organization is Beneficial for Frugality

  1. So true! Your pantry is really impressive.

  2. Mariano says:

    Thanks for your personal marvelous posting!
    I actually enjoyed reading it, you are a great
    author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog
    and will often come back sometime soon. I want
    to encourage continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

