March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Fridge

Today’s subject for the Photo-A-Day Challenge is “Fridge”. By the way, I just want to thank The Purple Carrot for this great photo challenge…it has really been fun! Anyway, fridge. Not much I can do but take a picture of my fridge. haha So here it is:

It’s pretty much your average fridge. Has food in it. A closer look will reveal a certain method to my fridge madness though. I don’t know if I’ve stated this before, but I am a very visual person. Keeping that in mind, my organization of anything is based on visual triggers. For instance, I try to keep food in clear containers or open bowls so I know how much I have of everything.  I also try to group like items together. Do you not just LOVE my little vegetable bin? Found in an antique shop two years ago, 7 bucks and it is one of my most favorite things ever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I keep all of my leftovers on the bottom shelf. I then know to look there first when planning dinner. It’s not rare for us to have a small dish of three kinds of leftover veggies at the table. And then there’s the eggs and bread shelf. It’s usually not this full, but my friend Rebecca’s chickens and ducks are going crazy! I’m pretty sure we’ll be having omelets all weekend!

I truly believe that a big part of being frugal is knowing what you already have and how to use it. Believe me, I am not an organizational guru by any means (you’ve seen that crazy sunroom of mine!), but I do try to keep tabs of what is in the house. I cringe when something is wasted or forgotten. Well there you have it. My fridge (and pretty much storage) philosophy. Perhaps I’ll expand on that a bit later today. For now, I’m off to get some more work done on my soon-to-be dressing room! Have a wonderful Friday folks!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Photos, Thrift Store Finds, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Fridge

  1. Stacey Derck says:

    You keep your bread in the fridge????

  2. Love the veggie container! And I use those same old pyrex square containers with the glass lids – very nostalgic. Though mine has butter in it, so I keep it on the counter. And I have kept bread in the fridge too, if not using it up quickly – or even in the freezer and take out a few slices at a time.

  3. lisa white says:

    that is a beautiful little pyrex there.. my grandmother had alot of those…

Leave a Reply

