Chicken Pot Pie ~ 4 Ingredients

Bake I do not. I have an underlying phobia of flour. I detest the feel of it on my fingers or the countertop, or anywhere else for that matter. I have no idea why or where it came from but it’s a tactile thing that I just can’t (or don’t want to) get past. It is mostly that weird flour aversion that has stopped me from baking. That, and the fact that I have evolved into a no-measurement kind of cook and that just does NOT coincide with the baking world.

I just explained all of that so you wouldn’t think less of me for using store-bought pie crusts. How’d I do? 🙂

As I sit here enjoying some leftover chicken pot pie from last night’s dinner, I figured I’d share with you. Where I come from, chicken pot pie has two forms. It can be baked in a crust like a pie or it can be in stew form with homemade noodles. I love both. Given the fact that I won’t touch flour long enough to make homemade noodles, I choose to make it in actual pie form. It couldn’t be easier.

Ingredients:

  • 2 refrigerated pie crusts
  • 1-2 cups cooked chicken
  • 1 bag of frozen mixed vegetables
  • 2-3 cans of cream of anything soup (obviously cream of chicken rocks, but you can use any kind)

Directions:

  1. Lay your first pie crust into the bottom of the largest pie dish you own.
  2. Sprinkle half of the chicken on top of the crust.
  3. Pour the vegetables on top of the chicken.
  4. Sprinkle the last of the chicken on top of the vegetables.
  5. Cover with the soup (whisk the soup in a bowl first to de-clump it) until it looks like the picture below and season with salt and pepper:

I do have to say that this is so versatile that if you don’t have any cream of anything soup, you can get creative (like I had to last night). I made some homemade gravy out of the broth from roasting the chicken and then mixed it with a jar of commercial gravy. Do what you think you’ll enjoy, using what you have on hand.

6.  Lay the second pie crust on top, pinch the two crusts together and cut slits in the top for steam to escape.

7.  Bake at 375 degrees for about 1 hour or until the crust is nice and golden brown. (Make sure to put the pie plate on a baking sheet to bake or you’re going to have an awful mess to clean up!) Bad pic note: Mine was actually darker than in the pic, bad lighting. Gggrrrr.

Let it cool a little, then serve everyone a big hunk of homestyle goodness. Easy, frugal and delicious! Total cost for me on this one was about $7.00. It is enough for three people to have dinner and lunch the next day. I roasted a chicken in the crockpot, made the pot pie and still have chicken leftover for sandwiches, a small batch of chicken and waffles or to add to soup. The next time you cook some chicken and have leftovers…think chicken pot pie!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chicken Pot Pie ~ 4 Ingredients

  1. changeinview says:

    These are amazing this way and very healthy. My wife used to do it that way then she started making her own crust…but if you don’t like to touch flour I can see why you would like the frozen pie crusts. It is a must try!

    • I couldn’t agree more! The great thing about this meal is that you can add anything you have! We’ve had it with roasted garlic, sweet potatoes, broccoli…you name it! Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  2. That looks delicious. I need to encourage my wife to read your blog. She’s a great cook, and you have so many good ideas.

  3. I use frozen pie crusts too (unless I can convince my husband to make pie crust). I actually failed the pie crust class in a Quantity Foods course in university (I took a hotel and food degree). I can burn/fry a pie crust in no time. Looks delicious. We make pot pies using leftovers from roast chicken all the time. Or even just a shepherd’s pie type thing with the leftover mashed potatoes on top. Good comfort food.

Leave a Reply

