I Want a Dressing Room…and I Need Your Help

Ok folks, here’s another project that has been stuck in my head for quite awhile and put on the back burner until I found some time to tackle it. I’ve found the time (and energy) to tackle it. Right off of our bedroom is a sunroom. It is a nice sized space and has windows on two whole walls. There is a door that leads to our bedroom. Many eons ago, we used it as an office but for the last 8 years or so, it has been nothing but a dumping ground for “stuff”. When we didn’t know what to do with something the comment was made “Just put it in the sunroom for now”. I despise that “for now” nonsense. Since the children are filtering out of the home, I thought that this space should be reclaimed. I’ve decided I want to make a dressing room out of it. Ok…now, with much guilt, I’ll show you the “before” pictures, taken several days ago:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And this is where I’m at after working on it yesterday and this morning:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have several dilemmas. The first is the color scheme. What color to paint the walls. I had previously picked out fabric with this project in mind and have definitely decided to go with green. I’m thinking the darker green in the flower.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now, if I go green, what color should I paint the furniture? There’s brown in the material, but I’m thinking black. The furniture is vintage, so I don’t want to go crazy like a yellow or anything. However, all of my accessories (jewelry holder, baskets, etc) are black, if I go with black furniture…too much?

Then there’s what to do with my obviously over-the-top-bordering-obsession collection of purses. I initially thought to leave them where they are and use them and my scarves (which I also love) as kind of a “curtain” on that wall. I would add another mid-level rod on the window to add scarves to the bottom as well. Problems: The sun may fade them and they may clash with the green. (I know, that’s a sad statement. Just being honest!)

I’m keeping the rug because it will be warm in the winter. It’s a very light grey. So now I’m at a road block. I’m not sure where to go from here, but have ants in my pants to move on it. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff, Thrift Store Finds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Want a Dressing Room…and I Need Your Help

  1. Why not live with the furniture as is for a while, then decide what would look best in the finished room? Of course, this is coming from someone who takes forever to change anything..

    • Normally I would, but it’s pretty scraped up from being in my daughter’s room (makeup, hair straighteners and iced tea glasses have taken their toll). So, I’m trying to help it come back to life a little.

  2. The green looks very dark. If you go with a dark furniture color, do you think the room would look too dark? Also, are you intending to use this as an actual dressing room? You might want to pick a wall color that is more neutral to help when picking color combinations of clothing. Just my one cent – not being cheap, just don’t stray frequently from a neutral color palette.

    • You know, I never thought of the affect of the color when I’m picking other colors. Huh! That’s a good point. I was assuming that a darker color would be ok given the fact that there are two walls of window and there’s very little wall space left. Thanks for some things to ponder!

Leave a Reply

