March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Comfort

This one was a little tough for me. At first I was thinking about typical comfort foods and realized that my family doesn’t often indulge in your run-of-the-mill comfort foods (although my husband makes a mean mac & cheese!). So I widened my thought process and asked myself what makes me FEEL comfort when in the kitchen. It came right to me.

I find the utmost comfort knowing that I feed my family the best way that I know how. I find comfort in knowing that although we are not “fanatics”, we eat quite nutritiously. I find comfort in knowing that even in extreme conditions I know enough in the kitchen to make “something out of nothing”. And I find not just comfort but a great deal of pleasure when I share my food with others. I guess my kitchen IS my comfort in some ways.

Total side note here. I am a huge fan of dips. I could live off of them. For real. I often carry that love over to my breakfast table by mixing yogurt with just about anything (crushed fruit, peanut butter or even a drizzle of chocolate syrup) and then dipping whole grain toast, fruit or homemade french toast sticks into the creation. See? Dips don’t have to be bad for you!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Life Stuff, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Comfort

  1. Stacey says:

    I just love your blog. You are so creative and imaginative. I don’t know how you find the time to do all you do!

  2. Jessie says:

    Love the yogurt dip! I bet my 2 year old would eat this up! She loooooooooooooves dip!

  3. Shira says:

    Loved your thoughts and echo the sentiments – loving food and making something out of nothing while not being fanatical! Very wise, ad close to my heart! 🙂

  4. Shira says:

    It also appears I can’t spell today 🙂

Leave a Reply

