Last Night’s Meeting

As you may or may not know, two months ago I started a local group that involves coupon swapping, bartering and good old fashioned swap meets. We bring donations to every meeting for our local church’s food pantry and/or clothing closet in return for using their hall.

Last night we combined a coupon swap with a swap meet. We brought things that we could no longer use and then had the opportunity to pick new (to us) items to take home. Whatever isn’t taken, goes to either the church or the local Salvation Army.

I apologize for the lousy pictures, but I totally forgot to even take them until the end of the night. Some people had already left and most of the items had already been claimed. However, I’m going to show you anyway. 🙂

 

 

 

 

Here’s two of the tables after they’ve been picked through. I would like to add that I talked someone into taking the salad spinner after I saw “Salad Spinner Art” posted on Pinterest. You should look it up! Anyway…

 

 

 

 

Here’s the start to someone’s goody pile. The shoe box. It had a pair of new, fabulous sandals that I had won online a few weeks ago. They didn’t fit anyone in this house 😦 so I posted on FB that they would be at the swap. One young lady kept her fingers crossed that they would fit her. And guess what! It was like Cinderella and the glass slipper. She was very happy indeed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I fell in love with the only item I came home with. A box of stampers. They were all different shapes and sizes with varied themes. They belonged to a friend’s wife, who passed away several years ago. I’m glad that I get a chance to love them now. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff, Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Night’s Meeting

  1. That’s great that you were able to find something that you liked. I am looking at starting a coupon trading market where I live. There isn’t anything like that here so hopefully it does as well as yours did. I wish you well with your next Swap Meet.

    • Thank you so much! There was absolutely nothing like it here either. We are a small community that used to be very tight knit. I’m hoping this will bring back a little sense of community. 🙂 Good luck on your coupon trading!

Leave a Reply

