March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Protein

Today’s subject for the Photo-A-Day Challenge is “protein”. I chose eggs for my picture. Eggs have taken a bad rap in my opinion. I think eggs are pretty much a wonder food. I am lucky enough to be able to barter for fresh eggs with a friend of mine (both chicken and duck). Even if you pick yours up at the grocery store, eggs should be a part of your weekly grocery list because they are inexpensive and loaded with all sorts of good-for-you minerals, vitamins and of course protein.

Here are some great facts about eggs as per buzzle.com:

  • Eggs are one of the best sources of proteins. The biological value of proteins in eggs is very high, owing to the high contents of amino acids present in the eggs.
  • With the sole exception of vitamin C, eggs contain almost all vitamins. In particular, eggs are a rich source of vitamin B, especially B12 and B2 (called riboflavin). Vitamins A, vitamin D and some amounts of vitamin E are also found in eggs.
  • For a healthy body, many important minerals are required. Eggs, in particular, are a rich source of iodine and phosphorus. Iodine as we all know, is very useful for regulating the thyroid hormone and phosphorus is equally essential for the bones.

It should also be noted that eggs play a part in fighting diseases:

  • Eating eggs on a regular basis strengthens the immune system.
  • Eggs are good for eyes and they prevent macular degeneration.
  • Including egg in our diets lowers the risk of developing cataracts.
  • Eggs help in reducing the risk of breast cancer.
  • Eggs foster healthy growth of hair and nails due to the high sulfur content, vitamins and minerals.
  • Eggs contain the naturally occurring vitamin D and are beneficial for eyes and skin.
  • Eggs contain a nutrient called choline that is useful in the regulation of the nervous system, brain and cardiovascular system.

Eggs. Goodness in a shell.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

