Frustrating Grocery Day

It’s Monday, so it’s grocery day in this house, and it was not a very good one. I honestly think I’m getting so frustrated with the food industry that shopping just makes me angry. I used to love going to the grocery store and stalking out all of the deals, but lately it has been a real chore for me. I look at the smaller boxes, cans and jars and then glance at the higher prices and find myself dashing through the store and feeling taken advantage of.

I’m hoping that this mood will pass because I always enjoyed taking the time to pick out some bargains, getting creative with the foods that were on sale and enjoying “the hunt”. Luckily, we will soon be shopping in the garden and that will definitely help to make me feel less dependent on the food industry.

For now, I’ll use up what I have in the canning pantry and hopefully the freezer so we can make room for the next round. Until then, here’s the break down of my trip today:

  • 1 can of sauerkraut
  • 3 cans of red beets
  • 1 box organic oatmeal
  • 1 package pudding cups
  • 1 box cake mix
  • 2 pounds butter
  • 1 package turkey sausage
  • 1 lb beef cubes
  • 1 lb lunchmeat ham
  • 2 boxes Cheerios
  • 3 packages English Muffins
  • 2 loaves Multigrain bread
  • 2 boxes taco shells
  • 1 pouch taco seasoning
  • 1 jar hamburger pickles (I just can’t seem to make them to taste this good!)
  • 1 jar olive oil mayo
  • 1 package roast beef lunchmeat
  • 2 cans corn
  • 1 can green beans
  • 1 can Rotel sauce
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 bag frozen blueberries
  • 1.5 pound eye steaks
  • 1 package Kraft swiss cheese
  • 1 package organic baby greens

Total cost: $88.71, Total Spent: $57, Total Saved: $31.71 (only 36%)

It doesn’t help that I just noticed that the blueberries were scanned twice, adding an additional $3.28 to my bill!! Aaaaaaccckkkk!! Did I mention that I was not happy with my grocery trip today? At least I stayed under budget, however I did forget to get milk, so I’ll be a tad over in the end. I can’t wait to report my grocery trips this summer! I’ll show that food industry!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Grocery Savings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

