Vintage Book Picture Frame

My mother is an avid lover of vintage books. She pages through them, feeling the thin pages and often reads them cover to cover. I thought that this craft would be perfect as a gift for her.

Be forewarned…my mother…she is a “character”. She can make anyone laugh at the drop of a hat and brings surprise and awe to our world. With that said, the picture of her is one when she was in “character” mode.

Anyway, I had a few vintage books (actually, I think my mom gave them to me) and a little time on my hands. I printed out a funny picture of my mom and then a favorite picture of my niece. Both were printed in black and white. I then made three rectangular templates, one slightly larger than the picture and then two more, slightly larger than the first. With my exacto knife, I cut out the larger rectangle through the front cover of the book. Then used the next two to cut through several pages of the book. I slipped the picture behind the cut pages and secured with a glue stick. That’s it! And look how great they came out!

They can be totally glued together and hung on the wall if a hook is attached to the back cover. Or, just leave them as is and prop on an easel or just fan the books open. I love the vintage look and made the photos a little grainy when I printed them out so they would match the vintage “feel” of the project. Fun, right? Ok, now you can laugh at the picture of my mom…we do! 🙂

This craft was submitted to a linky party at Nifty Thrifty Things where there are 162 more fun things for you to look at! Go ahead and peek, you know you wanna!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in DIY, Life Stuff, Repurpose Ideas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vintage Book Picture Frame

  1. ariella42 says:

    These are awesome! I have issues with cutting up books, but I might make an exception for these

Leave a Reply

