Roast Those Veggies!

Thanks to my mom, I have a real love for roasted veggies. Roasting brings out an intense flavor of the veggie, a sweetness, an earthiness and then melds it together with the slightly charred flavor. Out of this world! I made some “clean out the fridge” roasted veggies last night. The last of a bag of baby carrots, one bunch of broccoli and some brussel sprouts my mom had given to me so they wouldn’t go bad.

All you have to do is make the veggies approximately the same size, lay them out on a baking sheet, drizzle them with olive oil and season. I like to use veggie bouillon, sea salt and fresh cracked pepper. Then put into a hot oven (425 – 450 degrees) and cook until the veggies are tender and there are charred areas on them. It will be somewhere between 15 and 25 minutes depending on which veggies you’ve chosen and how big they are. Just make sure to turn them at least once during cooking so they don’t burn on one side.

Experiment with any veggie you want! I love fresh green beans, broccoli, cauliflower, potatoes, and I tried cabbage for the first time a few weeks ago…pretty much thought I was in foodie heaven.

Side note: Do you see that vintage linen calendar under the veggies? I just found it the other day, tucked between some of my tablecloths! I was so excited! (For the new readers, I have a “thing” for vintage cloth calendars) Another one for me to enjoy. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff, Photos, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roast Those Veggies!

  1. Shira says:

    Love ‘clean out the fridge’ anytthing – especially roasted veggies!

Leave a Reply

