Mini Greenhouse ~ Starting Seeds Indoors

It’s almost planting time! I LOVE Spring! I know it’s not officially here, but the weather outside is teasing us with the warmth of months to come. I’m really looking forward to working in the garden and watching our little plants grow into food-producing vegetation. We always grew the majority of our plants from seeds planted directly into the ground, but tomato and pepper plants need to be started inside due to their long growing season. Last year, we discovered a great tool to help us keep our seedlings healthy. A mini greenhouse. This one is 5 feet high, has four shelves and my husband put a growing light inside as well. We keep it next to the only south-facing window we have and check on the babies daily.

As you can see from the condensation, it stays plenty warm inside. We bought a second one this year and plan on trying to grow lettuce year round. Not sure if it will work, but for the price, it is certainly worth a shot. We got ours at the Harbor Freight store. It was $29.99, but we had a 20% coupon, so we got it for $23.99. It’s quite sturdy and made with durable plastic. We’ve used ours for two years now and it isn’t showing any signs of wear.

I’m not here to advertise for Harbor Freight, I’m just informing you where we purchased ours and our results. If you can find one at a better price, or bigger, or more suited to your needs, by all means go for it! I’m just trying to plant the seed in your mind (get it? hahaha) that maybe a mini greenhouse can help you get a jump on your own garden. Happy growing!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Garden Tips, Life Stuff, Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mini Greenhouse ~ Starting Seeds Indoors

  1. Debra says:

    I’ve been using something similar to start my daylily seedlings indoors for the past 3 winters. Try lining the inside with mylar to reflect the light back in to the plants. I used two $.99 mylar emergency blankets available at a sporting goods store. The increased light really helps the plants. Other people I know also use fans to keep the air moving & cut down on damp-off.

    • Thanks Debra! We use a fan every other day to cut down on damp-off and to strengthen the plants as well, but never thought of mylar. That’s a fabulous idea. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

