My $16.44 Shopping Day

I decided that the weather was way too nice for me to stay inside today. I already had three bags of items I wanted to drop off at the thrift store, so that’s where I started. While there I was able to pick up:

  • A pair of Land’s End sweatpants
  • A Nautica t-shirt
  • A Tommy Hilfiger T-shirt
  • 2 other t-shirts (one with a $13.99 tag on it)
  • A wooden basket (going to paint it a different color)
  • A corkscrew
  • A corked oil bottle (never used)
  • A vintage refrigerator storage dish

Total for that stop ~ $5.97

I then decided to look for a certain deal at Dollar General. They didn’t have what I was looking for, but I  walked out with:

  • A bottle of Wisk laundry detergent
  • Cascade Action Packs (20-pack)
  • A bottle of vinegar (have to stock up, canning season is coming!)
  • 1 Degree deodorant

Total there ~ $7.10

Last stop was CVS. I had $4 in Extra Care Bucks that were going to expire in 2 days, so I figured while I was out…

  • 2 cans of green beans
  • 2 boxes of Total cereal
  • 2 Right Guard deodorant
  • 1 box (14 count) of Prevacid

Total spent ~ $3.55

I will never understand it when people tell me that they “don’t have time” for coupons or refuse to shop in thrift stores. It simply amazes me. I was gone for a whopping hour and 15 minutes and saved a ginormous amount of money. Sheesh, just the Prevacid and the new T-shirt alone retail for $26.78! I came home with name brand food and household items (except green beans and vinegar), some new clothing and other previously owned items that looked brand new.

I guess I’m kinda glad that not everyone thinks this way. Leaves much more for me! 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Grocery Savings, Life Stuff, Thrift Store Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My $16.44 Shopping Day

  1. Shhh! Don’t tell everyone – more for the rest of us!

Leave a Reply

