Don’t Look at The Picture!

As you wander through the thrift stores, antique shops and yard sales you will find about a kajillion pictures for sale. At least a bazillion. Often, they are not given a second look other than for the potential buyer to mumble “Who in the world would hang that on their wall?”. Look past the picture of a pastel cactus or dogs playing poker. Look at the frame (color does NOT matter), the size and the matte. If you love all of them…who cares what the center looks like?

Here’s a peek into one of my frame redos. I loved that they were big, long (originally wide) and skinny. I detested the pictures themselves and the fact that the frames were a gawd-awful tacky gold. Have no fear…spray paint is here!

Here’s a picture of what the frame looked like before and after a good dose of black spray paint.

I forgot to take a picture before I took them apart, but that lovely 80’s print is what was inside of the blingy gold frames. Ok, go ahead and laugh at the picture of me and hubby. It’s alright, I’ll wait… It was taken 2 years ago on our anniversary at a Styx concert. We were soaking wet from rain, didn’t have our camp chairs and were still having the best time! We’re not exactly a “pose for the camera” kind of family for sure. Anyway.

The pictures that I put into the frames were simply printed out on regular computer paper. I plan to change them out every now and again and there’s no reason to waste photo paper on something like this, especially if the photo is behind glass. So there they hang, in our living room in all of their glory. Gad, that wall color looks hideous in pictures! I SWEAR it’s not that bright or ugly in person. Pinky promise. Who am I kidding? I’m shopping for paint tomorrow.

So keep an eye out for great frames, not great pictures. The great pictures will come from you.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff, Thrift Store Finds and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

