Skinny Mashed Cauliflower

We are all big fans of mashed cauliflower in this family. When I initially started making it, all of the recipes added sour cream or cheese or something else that was not waistline friendly. So I started removing items from the ingredient list and then adding some of my own. The result? Lowfat Mashed Cauliflower that is jam packed with flavor. Here’s what you do:

Chop one head of cabbage into medium florets and wash thoroughly. Add the cauliflower to boiling water, along with about a clove of minced garlic. Cook until the cauliflower is fork-tender.

Side note: I always keep jarred garlic on hand just in case I reach for my fresh and it looks like this:

When the cauliflower is cooked through, drain the water and add to your food processor. You can then add any seasonings you want. I add more chopped garlic, veggie bouillon, salt and pepper. If you’d like to add another cooked veggie, now would be the time (it is fabulous with spinach, collard greens, etc). Now add a dollop of lowfat mayonnaise. Just a “plunk” with your rubber spatula.

Give it a whir in the food processor. When it looks processed, open the lid and check it. If it’s more chunky than creamy (like the picture below) add a little more mayo and give it another whir.

You want to keep doing that until it looks creamy. (You can always add more mayo, but you can’t take it out!) It should have the consistency of mashed potatoes, but you’ll still see very small pieces of cauliflower. This stuff is so amazing! I promise you will love it. You can’t taste the mayo at all, it really just binds everything together. Let your seasonings be your flavors, along with that beautiful cauliflower. Here’s some variations that I’ve tried and love: Fresh basil with garlic, pesto, spinach with coarse black pepper, dried hot peppers (zingy!) with collard greens and garlic with veggie bouillon. Give it a try! You may fall in love with cauliflower!

This post was submitted to a linky party over at Uncommon ~ Creating the Extraordinary. Why don’t you stop by and see all the other cool stuff that was submitted?

 

I also linked this post to Fancy This Fridays at Truly Lovely. There were already 57 other blog posts when I got there…you should check them out!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skinny Mashed Cauliflower

  1. Mark Routt says:

    I think I will try this. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing with us! Hope you will join us again tonight!

    Take care,

    Trish

Leave a Reply

