March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Silverware


Today’s photo challenge subject is “Silverware”. You may wonder why I have a camping utensil set as my picture. Of course there’s a story behind it (isn’t there always?). About five or six years ago, before I retired, I was able to have lunch with my husband. During the warmer months, we would try to pack our lunches or grab a salad from the local grocery store and eat at the nearby marina, next to the river. They were wonderful times!

I had only one complaint. You see, I am not fond of plastics. I don’t like to eat with them, drink from them or have my food served in them. It’s not because of the whole “green” thing, it’s more of a tactile thing. I just don’t like the feel of them. We all have our quirks, this happens to be one of mine. Don’t judge me. :-/

Of course my husband knew my aversion to plastics and would watch my dismay as I grabbed that plastic fork that comes with grocery salads and try to take bites of my salad without ever touching the plastic fork. Well one day, he presented this camping utensil set to me and told me I should keep it in my car to use so I wouldn’t have to endure the evil plastic. Isn’t he thoughtful?

I retired two years ago and that utensil set has sat in the back of my silverware drawer ever since. The bolts are a little rusty, it doesn’t open as easy as it used to, but you know what? I still consider it my finest silverware.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff, Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Silverware

  1. I keep picking up odds and ends silverware when Im at yard sales, just so I have extras on hand for work/school lunches and big bbqs. That way my nice set doesnt get lost and I have something “real” to eat with”. I’m with you on the plastic thing. Having some real silverware, dishes and a napkin even for work lunches makes it feel better.

Leave a Reply

