Over Budget on Grocery Day….Arrrggghhh!

Let me start by saying this: It’s totally my fault. I was ill-prepared for my grocery trip today. I had my coupons, I had my bags BUT I didn’t check the store circular before my shopping adventure. My bad. If I had, I would have known that I was going to find laundry detergent, paper towels and Laughing Cow cheese on sale and I would have budgeted for them. I should have also known that with my daughter getting ready to go back to school, I would be making a grocery “care package” for her as well. What also blew my budget was the fact that I found so many great deals on meats, that I just couldn’t pass them up. All discounted: Bacon, lunchmeat, pork, round steaks, seasoned chicken drumsticks and plain chicken breasts. I also didn’t count on adding cereal to the pantry, but Kellogg’s cereals were on sale 4/$10 and I then had a coupon as well for $4 off. How could I NOT?

So here’s my haul:

And here are the numbers:

  • Total: $146.76
  • Spent: $77.23
  • Saved: $69.53 (47%)

I’m rationalizing it. 1/4 of the purchases went into the freezer and/or pantry. 1/4 of them went to my daughter to take back to college. So really, I only spent $38.62 on actual family groceries this week. Hey, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Grocery Savings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Over Budget on Grocery Day….Arrrggghhh!

  1. Don’t kick yourself, we all have those type of shopping trips. Besides that, you had a tremendous savings! Your savings all but doubled your money. Great job in my opinion!
    Patti

    • Patti…I’m ok with savings anywhere from 45% to 60%, and usually fall within that range. I was just a tad upset with myself for taking the lazy way out that time. Lesson learned!

Leave a Reply

