Do NOT Discard Old Citrus

Here’s another “Nothing Wasted” tip for you. Old citrus = clean microwave AND fresh garbage disposal. We all have times that we end up with neglected citrus, especially this time of year when you just want to buy up all of that sunshine and taste it forever! Here’s my recent neglected citrus story:

My husband has discovered that he LOVES clementines. Because of that, he went through a several-week phase in which he ate them in his packed lunch and snacked on them at night like they just chopped down the last clementine tree on the planet Earth. In turn, I got into the habit of buying clementines every week. Apparently in the mean time someone informed my hubby that clementines will indeed grow again because I’m finding myself with leftover citrus more and more.

As I bring home our weekly bag of clementines, I’ve been moving the not-so-healthy ones to a shelf in the kitchen. I pretend they’re decorative as I pile them onto a bowl that also holds a sad, sad candle that I just can’t part with. And there they sit, waiting to be brought back to life.

Today, a few chosen clementines got their chance. I noticed that one of my household members had microwaved leftover spaghetti, sausage AND made a bubbling cup of hot cocoa in the microwave. How did I discover this you ask? Pure investigative skill.

Gross, right? I agree. So I grabbed three small clementines and my rather gigantic Ginsu knife and sliced them in half. I squeezed a bit of the juice from each one into an old Christmas mug, layered the clementine halves into the mug and then filled with water.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I then microwaved the cup for 4 1/2 minutes. You can go to 5 minutes if your mug is bigger. I let the mug sit inside the microwave (door still closed) for a minute or two. This lets all of the steam and citrus oils attack that splattered tomato sauce and show it who’s boss!

When the door is opened, you will notice a ton of condensation on the walls and beware, there will be boiled liquid all over the bottom tray. (Look at all of the wonderful steam built up on the door of the microwave:

Remove the mug and tray (remember the hot liquid on it!) and simply wipe the inside of the microwave clean with a sponge. It is that simple and quick. Look how great it came out:

Great…I just saw a spot I missed! I have to be a contortionist to reach the top of my microwave. Guess what I’ll be doing in three minutes? Anyway….we’re not done yet! Dump that mug of citrus remains right into the garbage disposal and give it a whir. The rinds help deodorize it and will make your nostrils happy. Now make sure the sponge goes onto the top rack of the dishwasher so it can be sanitized with the next load of dishes. Ok, NOW we’re done.

Nothing wasted AND we didn’t douse the microwave in any chemicals. That’s pretty awesome. Clementine anyone?

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff, Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do NOT Discard Old Citrus

  1. Amber says:

    Also, if you’ve made fish or curry for dinner and want to get rid of the lingering smell, boil citrus fruits on the stove-top.

Leave a Reply

