Consumers Are NOT Dumb

Do the food manufaturers really think we won’t notice that they took 2 ounces away, but are charging the same price? It’s everywhere…cereal, mayonnaise, rice, etc. I don’t know about you, but the way I am combating this…growing and making my own. Now, Mr. Big Business, how in the world does that help you? The more people that grow or make their own, the less you sell, the less money you make so you have to downsize your product again? Sounds like a vicious cycle to me. I’m not sure why you don’t just inform the public of your financial situation and charge us a few pennies more. At least then I wouldn’t feel like you’re trying to pull one over on me.

So go ahead… shrink your cans, put bubbles in your jars and make your boxes skinnier. I’ll just keep buying less and less of your product. It’s that simple. Fool me once, shame on me. Fool me twice. Well, that’s not going to happen.

Sincerely,    A Fed Up Consumer

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Grocery Savings, Life Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Consumers Are NOT Dumb

  1. I really like that you pointed this out. I have been noticing the shrinking amount of product that I buy and the rising prices. Growing and making our own products is not only a way of showing companies that we will not be taken advantage of its also the best way to insure that your food is grown as naturally as possible giving you the most nutritional benifit. Thanks again for another wonderful post.

    • I couldn’t agree more! I made some bread last night and all the while kept thinking “at least I know what we’re eating”. Our garden gets bigger and bigger each year as we become more self sufficient and hopefully more healthy.

  2. Amber says:

    So true! I think I notice the shrinking packaging most with cereals.

    I grow my own tomatoes and a few herbs during the summer. Fresh pasta sauce tastes better anyway!

    • It sure does! Unfortunately, our tomatoes were hit with blight last year and right next to those cans of Hunt’s, you’ll see the last of three jars of our tomato sauce. 😦 But I plan to make up for it this year!! 🙂

  3. So very true! I’ve noticed it in almost every prepackaged product I have purchased in the last few months. Some state clearly on the box that they are reducing packaging, but leaving the contents the same, while others just seem to be a complete shrink of package and contents. I wish I could garden. I have tried 3 different times. I SUCK at gardening. Consistent weeding is what I lack, there are just never enough hours in my day. Anyway, I will continue to coupon and save that way. Well, have a wonderful day and keep on blogging!
    Patti

Leave a Reply

