I am NOT Beneath Free Lobster

My mother called me on Thursday afternoon and asked the question “Exactly how committed are you to Fat Friday and Sloppy Saturday”. I responded “Extremely, why?”.

I know…I’ll back up a few steps. Ever since my husband and I realized that we aren’t immortal we decided that maybe if we adopted a more healthy lifestyle, there would be a good chance that we could eek out a few more years on this planet. I had felt this way for awhile now, but the crowning moment came for hubby when the doctor gave him his latest cholesterol and blood pressure numbers. Trust me, he wasn’t going to play those numbers in the lottery.

Now, we maintain a very healthy lifestyle. We exercise and eat right…38 out of 42 meals weekly. Dinner on Fridays and Saturdays are “anything goes”. Soooo…we refer to those nights as Fat Friday and Sloppy Saturday. Otherwise, it’s whole grains, smaller portions, lowfat mayo, salads, no deep fried anything and more than our helpings of fruits and veggies in any given meal.

Back to Mom. She then tells me that she has four lobster tails in the freezer that have to be used up. Gee, I wish I had such problems. Why in the world a single woman in her sixties has four lobster tails in her freezer I’ll never know! So she tries to tempt me by telling me how big they are and that she’d have drawn butter, etc. but I was strong! I stuck to my guns and told her we’d have to schedule dinner for a Friday or Saturday night. She called me back 5 minutes later and said “How about tomorrow night”?  I was grinning like the Cheshire Cat! Why of course! We’d LOVE to have lobster tail at your house tomorrow evening!

She asked if I’d make the coleslaw (yes, I had coleslaw two days in a row. Boooo-yah!). I gave her the potatoes to roast (BOGO sale) and she gave me the cabbage. All I had to do was buy carrots. I had used mine up making stew the other day.

I showed up at mom’s house with a huge container of coleslaw and was met by fabulous smells wafting from her kitchen. You see, my mother HAD to have been a chef in a previous life. She loves to entertain and is very good at it. Her meals outshine those of any 5-star restaurant, and that night wasn’t any different.

There were four of us for dinner. My mother, one of her good friends, myself and hubby. We sat down to lobster tail, sauteed shrimp, an amazing salad with fresh mozzarella, roasted veggies and coleslaw. And the bread! Oh…the bread. An Italian loaf that she stuffed with carmelized onions and mozzarella cheese and then baked. WIN!

I simply can’t tell you how fabulous this meal was. The four of us sat at that table for 2 hours talking, eating and laughing. It was a wonderful Fat Friday for sure. Do I feel bad that the meal cost my mother an arm and a leg? Nope. Both the arm and the leg were already in the freezer, I couldn’t see her waste those precious limbs. I did bring her a makeup set for a hostess gift as a return gesture. She can use it on the nights that she dates Mark Harmon. Not a typo, but definitely a story for another time.

Seriously, what’s more frugal than mooching off of your relatives? 🙂

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Life Stuff, Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I am NOT Beneath Free Lobster

  1. lisa white says:

    ❤ not only does the food look fab.. i love the plate as well!!! your mom is so talented … and i can say an amazing cook as well…sounds like the perfect evening…

  2. Sherry says:

    It’s family, I figure it all evens out in the end!

Leave a Reply

