March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Lunch Break

Today’s subject for the Photo-A-Day Challenge is “Lunch Break”. Lunch is a very important meal to me. It refuels me for the afternoon, which is when I get most of my work done. I’ll admit that I’m a slow starter, but once I get going…well, there’s no stopping me. So, I always try to have a tasty, nutritional lunch to keep me going. Even when I hit Tasmanian Devil speed, I don’t crash and burn after eating well. Here’s what I enjoyed yesterday:

I made a fabulous salad with lowfat poppy seed dressing, homemade croutons, red beets (from last year’s garden) and a red beet egg (the fresh eggs were bartered). I also made some garlic bread from Sandwich Thins (made with lowfat mayo) and some amazing homemade pickles. The pickle recipe took me three months to get from a friend’s aunt-in-law. Not kidding. Aunt Sylvia pretty much rocks it out when it comes to pickle making and once I tasted her pickles…well let’s just say I obsessed until I got the recipe. Maybe someday I’ll share with you. Probably not, but I wanted to be nice by offering. 🙂

Lunch. It does a body good. Pickle…does a tastebud wanna do the hokey pokie and shake it all about.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Life Stuff, Photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

