A Few More Pantry Pics and My Pantry Philosophy

With today’s photo challenge subject being “pantry”, I thought I’d share the theory behind mine. I have two pantries. One of them holds all of the colorful jars filled with goodness from our garden that I preserve. (Well, at least several shelves) The other shelves are occupied by a mixer, a grinder, some overflow of dishes from the kitchen and my canning spices. I don’t have a full picture of this pantry, you’ll have to take my word on this one.

My second pantry is my main food pantry. It is where I keep my canned, boxed, bagged and other non-perishable foods. There is also some of my overflow of paper products and household products in there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I then have my kitchen cupboards where I store the items I want to use first. I am a firm believer in having a well stocked pantry for several reasons. My first reason is to be prepared. I try to have at least three months of food on hand in case of emergencies. Between both pantries, the kitchen cupboard and two freezers there’s no doubt that I have accomplished that. When I say emergency, that covers everything from a job loss to a national disaster. If you will notice, there are a lot of basic items in there. Flour, sugar, vinegars, oils, etc. That way, if I don’t have it, I can probably make it.

Another reason I try to keep my pantry stocked is because I have a daughter in college. When she comes home, she is welcome to “shop” in the pantry and take anything she wants. All of the items I’ve purchased have been bought at a discount with coupons and sales. She hasn’t mastered that yet, so by her taking items from there, it’s actually saving us both money.

And the third reason is just that I don’t ever want to be in the middle of cooking something and not have an item on hand (or at least a substitute). There really is nothing more frustrating!

As you can tell, I am not an “extreme couponer” that has rooms and rooms of items that came free with coupons whether we’ll ever use them or not. I just don’t have the time or energy for that! I do, however, want to make sure that I can take care of my family and continue to provide nutritious, flavorful meals no matter what happens. Oh, and I don’t think we’ll ever run out of razors, but that’s a story (and a different closet) for another day.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Grocery Savings, Life Stuff, Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Few More Pantry Pics and My Pantry Philosophy

  1. This is a great article! It’s great to see that you can save money, provide healthy food, and keep the stockpile well organized. This is great. I recently posted a new blog titled Women – The quest for the perfect excuse. I was hoping if you have the time would you be kind enough to share some of your cleaning/sorting tips.

  2. Pingback: Organization is Beneficial for Frugality | Fine Frugality

Leave a Reply

