Bits & Pieces ~ Always an Adventure

The beginning of the week is like a grand adventure for me. I do my grocery shopping on Mondays in order to take advantage of all the discounted meats. So…it’s like a safari. I’m on the hunt, but not sure what I’m going to “bag”.

In order to make room for all of the new groceries, an additional hunt is necessary. A tour through the refrigerator to seek out the limp, the frail or the weak (food that is). Yesterday’s refrigerator search was quite successful for sure. Here are the poor victims of my hunt:

I am not one to waste, especially food. So I needed to take those sad little bits & pieces and make them into something wonderful. First the veggies. I was able to salvage a handful of greens that went into our dinner salad. The rest fell victim to the oven. They were given a second chance, bonded together to create a new life that is veggie bouillon.

I thinly sliced the carrots and together with the greens placed then in a single layer onto two cookie sheets. They then went into a low oven (170 degrees) where they stayed most of the afternoon, drying out until there was nothing left but a crispy version of their former selves.

A quick pulse in the coffee grinder and they joined the rest of their previously dehydrated buddies into my never ending jar of veggie bouillon. I use this stuff a lot! Added to homemade soups, sprinkled on salads, added to rice dishes or rubbed onto meats. It is full of intense flavors and adds a nice punch to many meals.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What wasn’t dehydrated, we’ll use for compost. Notice that I reused the veggie container for the compost. Nothing wasted!

Now for those pears. I remembered that I still had about one cup of black raspberries hanging out in my freezer. We picked those berries from the wild black raspberry bushes on our farm. So the solution was clear. Pear/Black Raspberry Jam. I peeled and chopped the pears, added the black raspberries and heated them to a rolling boil. I then added a little over a cup of sugar and heated again to a rolling boil, then for a minute or two until I was pleased with the consistency. A quick whir with my stick blender and it was perfect. I loaded the sweet yumminess into two jars recycled from my hair dresser. (She saves her jars for me…in return she gets pickles and jam. It’s a great relationship) Please note, they are jars from her home, NOT her salon. And there you have it! Another victim saved and reborn!

So when you come across those bits and pieces of food in your fridge, try to get a little creative with them! You can still salvage them…well, most of them anyway. Food isn’t cheap, we should cherish every bite. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Money Saving Ideas, Photos, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bits & Pieces ~ Always an Adventure

  1. Bama Girl says:

    Hello! Thank you for sharing about the dehydrated vegetables turned bouillon! I never thought of that! I made vegetable bouillon by pulsing fresh veggies in the food processor with a lot of salt, then storing it in the fridge. I used some today and it tasted good. I like your way, too! Blessings from Bama!

  2. This is genius. I’ve been buying dehydrated vegetables for years. Now I have no idea why I never did this.

  3. Pingback: Waste Nothing of That Garden Goodness | Fine Frugality

  4. Pingback: I Can’t Believe That I Am STILL Processing Tomatoes! | Fine Frugality

Leave a Reply

