My Grocery Trip for 3/5/12

Monday’s are grocery day for me. I avoid weekend shopping as much as I possibly can due to the crowds. Mondays are also better for discounted items. Staff come in after the weekend and whatever didn’t sell like they anticipated is marked down. Here’s how my shopping trip went for me today:

That’s what I ended up bringing home. Not a bad haul. Meats, fresh veggies and fruit, frozen veggies and fruit, some lunch items and some things for the pantry. The iced tea I wouldn’t normally buy, but my daughter, who is away at college, asked if I could grab some. So of course…grab I did.

Here are some of the best deals I found today:

See what I mean? $1.75 for chicken, 15 links of sausage for $4.25, a chuck roast for $3.47…craziness. The Hidden Valley packets were discontinued so I ended up paying $.38 for both and the tuna was free after my coupon doubled.

Nice, right? The only thing is … I went 45 cents over budget. hahaha Yep. My weekly grocery budget is $60. I paid $60.45. I guess I shouldn’t complain given the fact that the original total was $127.93! So I saved $67.48 (52%). Yeah, I’ll take that.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Grocery Savings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Grocery Trip for 3/5/12

  1. I wish I could shop like that. Time to start couponing I do believe.

Leave a Reply

