March Foodie Photo-A-Day Challenge ~ Best Condiment

Today’s challenge was easy for me. Homemade ketchup is absolutely the bomb when it comes to condiments! You can make it as sweet or as spicy as you want, you know exactly what goes in it and there is nothing like it piled up on a hamburger with pickles, mayo, onion and tons of fresh cracked pepper. Yum!!

Today I’m going to share the recipe I use for homemade ketchup. I wish I could give credit to the original creator, but I jotted it down on a scrap piece of paper too long ago to remember. (I really should save this on Pinterest…remind me!) The BEST part about this recipe? NO COOKING. Yep, the most high-tech gadget you need to whip up a batch of this ketchup is a whisk.

How about we create some ketchup?!

Here’s the ingredients you will need:

  • 1 small can tomato paste
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup water (depending on how thick you like it)
  • 2 tbsp vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp dry mustard
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • pinch of cloves
  • pinch cayenne (I use chili powder)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

Now comes the hard part. Put all of the ingredients into a bowl and whisk them together. Easy now, don’t overdo it. *whew* You ok?

Transfer your ketchup into dispenser of choice and store in the refrigerator. Let is sit for at least 24 hours before you use it so that all of those wonderful flavors can hold each other tight and do the happy dance.

And there you have it. Homemade ketchup. Fresh, colorful, and oh-so tasty. Burgers anyone? You’re gonna love it…just look how happy these guys are!

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals, Money Saving Ideas, Photos, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

