Let’s Talk Freezer Storage

I have heard so many debates on what is the best way to store food in the freezer. Baggies, plastic containers, vacuum seal and so on. I’m going to let you in on my secret. Cereal bags. Yep. The cereal (and cracker) bags you get inside the boxes. Let’s think about this for a minute. Those bags were designed to keep moisture out. And they do a great job! It takes a very long time for crackers to get soggy when they’re sealed in those bags.

So let’s take it a step further. Press N Seal. That stuff can conform to practically any object! Put the two together and you’ve got a freezer miracle.

Ok, let’s get at it. When you bring meat home from the store, take it out of the original packaging. Wrap it tightly in the Press N Seal, write the contents onto the cereal bag then insert the wrapped food into the bag. (I often package several of the same items in one bag and then take out as needed)

Fold up the cereal bag, pushing any air out as you go, and then simply seal with a piece of packing tape. It’s super sticky and will hold up in the freezer.

It really does work very well! The best part is that you can keep re-using the cereal bags. You can put small freezer bags of contents in too. For instance, when I froze pumpkin, I divided it into baggies of one cup each and into a cereal bag they went. They were all in one place and double protected.

This picture of my ground beef didn’t pick up the detail, but trust me, there is not one crystal of ice on it, and it’s been in my freezer for about two months now. (you may notice however, that I am using up the Christmas Press N Seal I got on clearance at the end of the season hahaha).

So the next time that you polish off a box of Cheerios or Triscuits, shake the crumbs out of that bag and give this a shot. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Grocery Savings, Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Let’s Talk Freezer Storage

  1. I’d never thought of saving cracker or cereal boxes to use in the freezer – thanks!

  2. Good morning! This is a wonderful idea. Fantastic tight wad tip that must be shared with my readers,if you don’t mind. I will link back to you as a blog contributor.
    I love blog!
    Patti

  3. Mickey Louth says:

    I’ve always used these bags to bag my banana bread and other breads that I want to keep from drying out. Now I can use them this way too!

Leave a Reply

