Samples, Samples Everywhere!

Everyone loves a freebie. That’s why we all tend to grab free samples of products whenever we can get our hands on them! The word FREE makes us giddy! My favorite freebie to snag has got to be shampoo. I love trying new shampoos and enjoy the different scents. I must say however that ever since they started putting them into those foils packs, I’m not loving them near as much. 😦 They are absolutely awful to try to open with wet hands while you’re in the shower. So when I run to the mailbox only to discover my freebie shampoo has arrived in a flat envelope, my heart sinks a tad.

I have now learned to readjust my thinking. There is no way I’d ever throw them out, that’s just not in me. Instead, I’ve learned of alternative uses for those shiny packets of follicle cleansers:

Use as a pre-treater for your laundry. They work wonders on soiled collars. I haven’t tried the colored shampoos and have only used the clear or white ones, but I have stopped buying pre-treaters. Really!  Just run about half a packet along the collar, rub in, wait a few minutes and add to the wash. Collars come out nice and clean. Give it a try!

You can always empty all of the packets into one bottle of shampoo. Problem with this is that you’ll never know if you really like one sample in particular. You also may come out smelling like a lavender-citrus-morning fresh-peppermint head, but hey, you may be one of those adventurous types!

 

You can pack them all up and send them to our troops. There are lots of organizations that you can turn to for help on how to do this. Give2thetroops.org is just one of them. You can find a list of items that can be sent to troops here.

 

Saving your samples for travel is always a good idea. You don’t have to lug heavy bottles in your suitcase and you’ll have more room to pack additional bling! If you’re not planning a trip soon, how about a college student or a child going to camp?

 

Do you have relatives or friends coming to stay with you? You can always add the samples, along with a hand towel, to the guest room or bathroom. Your guests will appreciate your thoughtfulness.

Other ideas: Give the samples to a local shelter (women’s, homeless, teen etc.). Make an emergency kit for you car and add the samples to that. Use the shampoo samples to wash your delicates.

So the next time you see an offer for a free sample…grab it! You’ll be glad you did. 🙂

 

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Money Saving Ideas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

