Our Delicious $3.57 Meal

Last night, I made the most flavorful dinner. Seriously, it was so extremely tasty. Total cost for the meal $3.57. Not per serving. For the whole meal. I’m posting about this because I always hear people say that in order to eat on a budget, you have to exist on Ramen noodles. That is just not true. So I’ve decided that every now and again I’m going to show you some of the great meals we enjoy. All on  a budget.

Back to last night’s dinner:

It all started when I found these chicken leg quarters for $1.57. They were already marked down and then had a $2.00 peelie on them.

I drizzled a little olive oil on them and then sprinkled with salt, pepper, garlic powder and homemade vegetable bouillon. Baked them at 350 degrees for almost an hour.

In the meantime, I sauteed one chopped onion and one clove of garlic (minced) in a teaspoon of olive oil. As they were doing the tango with each other in the pan, I made some multi-grain rice in another pot. When the onion/garlic combo were cooked to my liking, I grabbed half a bag of frozen spinach and added it to the pan. I let it cook and wilt a few minutes. When the rice was done, I added that to the pan with the other yummy creatures and seasoned with salt, pepper and another sprinkle of veggie bouillon. (yes, I use it for a lot of recipes…it is just so full of flavor!)

Here’s how the rice turned out:

Go ahead…try to tell me that it doesn’t look fabulous! I dare you. I then opened a jar of pears (that I canned last year after I received a bounty free from a friend) and added a handful of frozen blueberries to the pears. (Wish they were fresh, but hey…February in Pennsylvania).

By that point, the heavenly aroma of the chicken baking had taken over and I rescued it from the oven at the peak of golden perfection. Can you tell I really liked this meal?

And here it is….our frugal masterpiece…

You can wipe that dribble of drool off of the side of your mouth now. hehehe

The breakdown:

Chicken ($1.57) Pears (0.00) Rice ($1.00) Onion ($.30) Spinach ($.50), Garlic ($.05), Blueberries ($.10) and olive oil ($.05). I used a coupon for the rice and got the spinach at the Dollar Tree. The blueberries were purchased for $2.49 for 16 ounces and I may have used 2 teaspoons. And if you don’t have a friend that leaves yummy pears on your porch for you to can…using coupons you can get a big jar of Dole fruit for a dollar, making your total $4.57.

So there you have it. It was easy, it was delicious, it was family-friendly and it was frugal. Because that’s the way we roll. 🙂

 

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Our Delicious $3.57 Meal

  1. What a great article! Good job on the frugal dinner. It looks amazing. You will be seeing this one re-posted on my blog! Thanks for sharing, it will definitely inspire others!
    Patti

    • Aawwww…thanks for the shout out! I’m hoping the leftovers are as yummy as the dinner because that’s where I’m headed! 🙂

      • Just posted. I hope you don’t mind, the little blue guy joining you for dinner…Haha! You will see what I mean in the picture. One question, how did you get your rice to look like that on the plate?
        Patti

      • LOVE the little blue guy! hahaha
        After the rice cools, it’s easier to form. I just pressed it into a ramekin and turned it upside down. The fact that it was cooked with olive oil helps it not stick. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Fine Dining on a Budget « The Katy Coupon Zone

  3. Angell says:

    Hi! I’m an email subscriber…and just wanted to say…from one blogger looking out for another…I received this post about 5 times. Every edit you did, got sent.

    I personally signed up for my own email posts to see what others see.

    So I’m just letting you know. I won’t be offended if you delete this comment…I just wanted to make sure you were aware of it. I wouldn’t want you to lose any subscribers because of it.

    Take care!

    Love your blog!

  4. Angell says:

    I’m not sure. I don’t use WordPress so I don’t know the editing process.

    Also, I’m just letting you know that I featured you today on today’s linky party. At the bottom of the post is an “I was featured” button if you’d like. Here’s the link:
    http://passionateandcreativehomemaking.blogspot.com/2012/03/beautiful-thursdays.html

Leave a Reply

