The No-Sog Lunch-Packing Salad

I know when I used to pack my lunches for work, every time I wanted to take a salad, I would either pack the entire bottle of salad dressing, or I’d spend an eternity looking for a small enough container or jar to use as a transportation mode. I would never put tomatoes on my salad because by the time lunch rolled around, my salad would be soggy and limp.

Since then I have learned that it’s all in the stacking! Here’s a great solution to the problems I’ve mentioned. Layered jar salads.

The trick is to put all of the “wet” items on the bottom of the jar. (In my case, the dressing and a sliced red beet egg).

You then stack the rest of your drier ingredients such as lettuces, celery, onion, carrots etc.  Hint: I do NOT recommend putting croutons inside the salad as they will take on the moisture and be of no crunchy use.

You can make these ahead of time and store them in the fridge for a day or two, which makes them a great grab-and-go item for your lunch! When you’re ready to eat, give it a good upside down shake to disperse the dressing and enjoy!

I love lunch. 🙂

About finefrugality

I am a wife, mother, business owner, farmer, foster parent, retired probation officer and so much more. :-) I love to save money any way I can. I just don’t see the sense in handing my cash over to someone else when I don’t have to. I coupon, I grow and can food, I reuse and repurpose items, I scour thrift stores and during the warmer months, my Saturday mornings consist of yard sales and our local farmer’s market with my husband. I have organized local meetings which include coupon swaps, barter clubs and swap meets. Here is where I begin to share this life with the rest of the world. This is Fine Frugality. Because being frugal is not only fine. It is FINE.
This entry was posted in Frugal Meals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The No-Sog Lunch-Packing Salad

  1. What a great idea! My hubby takes a salad to work every day and shakes up his salad before he leaves. He’ll love this.

    • I’m so glad you found something you can use! I sometimes make them up at the beginning of the week and store them in the fridge. Then anyone can take advantage, whether they go in my husband’s lunch or my daughter grabs one after work. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

